If you get pulled over while driving, it can be a frightening experience. Whether you’ve never broken the law before, or even if you currently have a warrant out for your arrest, there are certain things you should keep in mind if pulled over by the police.
What Should You Do If You Get Pulled Over While Driving?
If you’re unfamiliar with how to interact with law enforcement, you might make some mistakes. Especially if you’re nervous or anxious… which you probably will be if you just got pulled over. Some of the things that you’ll want to keep in mind:
- Stay inside your car and don’t make any sudden or abrupt movements. Only get out of you car if requested by the police.
- Only move slowly and try to keep your hands visible. Don’t make sudden movements, especially if needing to get your insurance from your glove compartment.
- Respond to any lawful and legal requests by the officer. If asked to get out of the car, do so, but slowly. Any requested paperwork, hand over slowly also.
- Announce anything that you’re doing or going to do. Try to avoid anything that could come across as threatening. If you need to lower your window, do so only enough to hear.
- If asked to search your car or person, you can politely decline. You don’t need to give permission for search.
- You are allowed to state that you wish to remain silent. You are allowed to give information that’s requested by the police, but anything that might incriminate you, you can remain silent.
- The lesson here is, it’s better to be safe. While there are many good cops out there, there are also police that could be nervous or anxious about the traffic stop. Behaving in these ways will protect you and anyone in the car, legally and also assure them that you’re not a threat.
Just remember, most police officers understand and are trained to remember that getting pulled over can be stressful. And in many areas, the police will have body cams or dash cams, so there will be a record of what happens. Be as compliant as possible without incriminating yourself.
If all of this doesn’t go well, or if you are already being sought after by the police, you might need our help. Contact us at Dennis Blackwell Bail Bonds of Colorado Springs to get help through your process. Call today!
Clients that are first timers to posting a Colorado Springs bail bonds typically ask, “Will I need collateral?”. Usually the answer to this question is no, more often than not. Collateral is generally used to secure larger bail bonds. A bail bondsman would over collateralize if he took something like a house with thousands in equity for a $1,000 bail bond. At our bail bond service, the majority of the bail bonds we post do not call for collateral.
We work as fast as possible:
When someone gets arrested for the first time, it can be a daunting reality. Going to jail is a completely different experience with regulations, constraints, and strangers you do not know. Our Colorado Springs bail bonds service knows this can be a tough time, and that is why we work so quickly to get business sorted and the bail bond posted so you can be back with your loved ones. We are the closest to jail to help accelerate the course for all clients.
This is just the beginning of why we are the top Colorado Springs bail bonds service, we are a family focused business and want every client to get what they are looking for. Our professional staff is waiting to assist you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If you are in Colorado Springs, Castle Rock, Pueblo or in the state of Colorado and in need of a bail bond, call Dennis Blackwell Bail Bonds at (719) 390-3930 for service you can trust.
The public has seen bail bond agents as a mobster looking scoundrel who swindles unsuspecting people out of there money for years. This picture is borrowed from Hollywood films that use bail bond agents as an affair of the stars. However, you will soon understand why we are the top Colorado Springs provider and why our bail bond agents are the most honest, professional, efficient and ethical in town.
We are here for the defendants:
We tell clients we will be there for them during the entire court process and we mean it. That being said, we can not provide legal advice, but we do provide information to defendants and co-signers, such as court dates, what the upcoming hearing is going to be (i.e. Pretrial Conference, Probation Hearing,…), approval of sureties if needed to continue the case until sentencing, reinstating the bail bonds, or consenting to allow travel to the defendant while on bond. Our Colorado Springs bail bonds service also knows many specialized criminal defense attorney’s that can assist you throughout the court process. We are happy to give you the contact information to many of those attorney’s along with the information to the public defender’s office. We want our clients to be set up to succeed and complete the entire court process.
Our Colorado Springs bail bonds service explains everything:
Starting out in the bail bond industry, we would observe other bail bonding services with one missing piece. They did not explain the contracts in depth to the client while completing paperwork and posting the bonds. Not disclosing all of the information to the client is wrong, deceptive, and could result in big losses for the co-signer and the bail bond service. At our Colorado Springs bail bonds service we make it a priority to go through every single line of the contract. This protects the client and it also reassures to the bail bondsman that the co-signer knows the responsibilities of this bail bond. It is a win-win for everyone involved and only takes an extra 5 minutes.
Open all day every day:
Many bail bonds offices claim to be open 24 hours a day, but over and over again we hear complaints from clients about how our bail bond service was the only one to actually pick up the phone in the early morning hours. From a business perspective, broadcasting one thing and doing another is unprofessional and should not be taking place. We are an authentic 24 hour bail bond service. When you need us for your Colorado Springs bail bonds service, give us a call. An agent will pick up, answer all of your questions, and complete all bonds if possible.
Did you know that every 3 seconds a person is physically abused by a significant other in the United States. This amounts to over 10 million domestic violence occurrences in just one year. Abusers believe their intimidation towards the victim is often enough that they can avoid the police being called. However, if a person fears for their lives they should always call the police.
Domestic violence isn’t just abuse from or with an intimate partner. It includes anyone living under the same roof, including parents, children, and even roommates.
Time In Jail
If the police receive a call for domestic violence, the abuser will have to spend at least 48 hours in jail before they can even start the process to post bond. If the domestic violence case results in a guilty sentence, the abuser will pick up jail time. The minimum jail sentence is 5 days. Depending on the severity of the violence, they can be sentenced to prison for over a year.
In 2005, 45% of abusers sent to prison received a sentence of two years or more. The differing imprisonment sentencing depends on whether the charge is a felony or misdemeanor.
If you are charged with shoving or pushing someone who lives with you this might just result in a misdemeanor. For a misdemeanor to take effect, a person must NOT be injured. If the abuser has a history of domestic violence or the victim suffers from serious bodily harm there is a higher chance it will be charged as a felony.
The abuser will be placed on probation once they are released from either jail or prison.
Probation terms vary depending on the domestic charges but the abuser will be confined to living space for a set amount of time. A curfew will be set if they have a job or are required to engage in community service.
If that doesn’t seem too tough, there could also be hefty fine required to be paid. The spectrum can range from a few hundred to the thousands of dollars. The average fine is around two thousand dollars.
Counseling, such as anger management may also be required. This cost will come out of pocket in addition to the fine, along with the time out of your day.
You Can Lose Your Job
A domestic violence conviction can result in jail time, probation, and fines. But they may also lose their job due to being incarcerated. It will also affect any future job search as it could be difficult to find a job with a criminal record now connected to your name.
You might have to start from the bottom to be considered for any job and it will be hard to pay for your general cost of living and your fines with an entry-level job.
The residual impact of domestic violence is very serious and it WILL have negative repercussions for the rest of your life.
If you need to make bond or need legal advice, contact us today.
Although alcohol is removed from a person’s bloodstream and body reasonably quickly, that is not the situation with other drugs. The “psychedelic” element, THC, contained in marijuana, is evident for over a month after it has been used. Because of the lengthy amount of time THC can remain in the system, there is no definitive way to detect impairment at a precise point in time.
In comparison, cocaine, is usually out of the body within a day or two. Thus, its presence can be a better indicator that a person is operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs.
Elevated Crash Risks and Drug Recognition Experts
The National Highway Transportation Safety Administration surrendered in communications to Congress that the present knowledge of drugs besides alcohol makes it impractical to precisely determine when raised levels of these substances cause a higher accident risk for a motorist. Because of this, some districts use “Drug Recognition Experts.” These are specifically trained police officers that are advanced in their ability to determine drug impairment in motorists. These officers are trained to closely survey a person’s behavior, eye mobility and other factors suggestive of drug influence. Over forty states including the District of Columbia have created Drug Evaluation and Classification Programs to educate and equip these types of officers.
Legalized Marijuana and Driving Under the Influence of Drugs
There are an increasing number of states and cities that have legalized both the use of marijuana for medical and recreational use. This revision in the laws across the United States, and in Colorado, pours into the need to establish other ways of determining if a motorist is impaired because of the use of a drug, including marijuana.
The education is likely to expand to other districts in the close immediate future. In addition, technology continues to advance in a way that is thought will make it straightforward for officers to determine if a motorist is impaired by marijuana at the time of citation or its presence in a person’s system is leftover from prior consumption.